Forgot Password?  
Searcy Public Schools :: ---Welcome to Searcy Public Schools---
---Welcome to Searcy Public Schools---

The Searcy Public Schools Board of Directors hired Dr. Randy Byrd as the assistant superintendent for support and special services for Searcy School District. Byrd will begin his contract on July 1, 2014.  Pictured are Dr. Sheena Williamson, assistant superintendent for certified staff and curriculum, Dr. Jim Hoffmann, school board president, Dr. Randy Byrd, Linda Benson, school board member, Philip Williams, school board vice-president, and Diane Barrett, superintendent, at the special-called board meeting on February 14.


Searcy School District will welcome a new face into the district on July 1, 2014.  Dr. Randy Byrd will begin his tenure as assistant superintendent for support and special services. 

A native of White County, Dr. Byrd was raised in the Bald Knob area.  He earned a Bachelor of Arts in education degree from Harding University and later completed his Master of Education degree in elementary administration from the same university. In 2003, the University of Arkansas at Little Rock awarded Dr. Byrd with his a doctoral degree in Education Administration. 

Throughout his career in education, Dr. Byrd has served in various areas.  At the beginning of his career, he taught science in both the Hughes and Bald Knob School Districts, and in 2000, he acquired the assistant high/middle school position in the Bald Knob Public Schools.  In 2002, Dr. Byrd was hired by Quitman School District as the superintendent where he spent two years and, in 2004, he moved to Brinkley to serve as superintendent.  Dr. Byrd currently resides in the Berryville School District as Superintendent of Schools.  He also uses his knowledge and education to teach others who are pursuing a degree in education as an adjunct professor for Lindenwood University in its School of Education.

Not only does Dr. Byrd have a love for education, but he has a love for his country and has demonstrated this through his military service. Dr. Byrd retired from the 188th Fighter Wing of the Arkansas National Guard in 2005 with the rank of Master Sergeant. He is community minded and has served in a number of roles in local groups such as a Chamber of Commerce board member where he acted as vice-president and secretary, Rotary Club, Lion’s Club,  and as a Unit Commissioner with the Boy Scouts of America.

Dr. Byrd and his wife Carol are the proud parents of Carrie Brown and Brian Byrd.   He enjoys several hobbies including crappie fishing, snow skiing, piloting, scuba diving, golf, photography, and studying military history.

Searcy School District is excited to welcome Dr. Randy Byrd, and we look forward to his impending arrival to Searcy.